Put This on Your To-Do List

My grocery list from last week, unedited and uncut! Yes, I eat a lot of vegetables.

Are you a list person?

I’m  a list person.  I make lists for things I have to do, have to buy, want to watch, want to listen to, etc.  I realize I may or may not have a problem.

Regardless, lists are a great opportunity to practice writing and learn new vocab!

I sit down for a few minutes before my day/grocery store trip/shopping expedition/whatever, and write down what I need.  If I don’t know a word or kanji, I look it up.  I help myself with furigana where I need it, but no English!  (In my game I play inside my head, that’s cheating!) If I need to, I’ll butcher the heck out of a word to get it into katakana (See “Pedialyte” on the list to the right, haha.  I’m easily dehydrated 😦 )

Is it perfect every time?  Probably not.  Actually, definitely not.  But that’s okay, I’m learning way more than if I didn’t do it!

Try it out!  See if you can do it for 10 days.  After that, I bet it’ll become habit, and you’ll have learned words and kanji for some of your regular buys/to-do’s!

6 Responses to Put This on Your To-Do List

  1. Theo says:

    great stuff, always liz. As soon as my real blog gets done http://www.pulsamento.com.br you are, for sure, on my blogroll, actually your are the first blog that really write and comment with the “newspaper reader feeling”, u know! god bless ! 😛

  2. kanjiwarrior says:

    Great post, I used to do this, but recently fell out of habit. A good reminder to start again, thanks!

  3. Delphine says:

    I love lists!(笑)This is a really awesome idea, and it becomes even better when you write on adorable paper :3

Leave a Reply

