Hack a Uni Library

Did you know many College and University libraries have Japanese books?
No, I don’t mean books on Japanese (though they have those too), I mean books in Japanese.  Yes. Win.

Free-Japanese-reading-material win.

(“But I don’t go to school right now!” Chill out, dude.  Me neither.  Keep reading.)

You can hack your local Uni library and find awesome Japanese books.

In  my never-ending quest for more Japanese reading material, I found that my old University’s library has an “Asian Languages and Literature” floor.  After much tweaking out and celebrating, I went there.

And it’s not just old, musty Japanese history books!  An example of the goods: This last visit, I got a couple of the Spirited Away manga, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time manga, Charlotte’s Web, and the Tale of Peter Rabbit. (千と千尋の神隠しのマンガ、時をかける少女というマンガ、チャーロットのおくりもの、ピーターラビットのお話)  Hey now, don’t hate on the kids’ books, I read what I dig, and so should you!

Get in On the Free-Book Action

Do you go to University now? Awesome, check out the library!  Don’t be afraid to ask librarians for help finding stuff, University libraries can be a little more overwhelming than local libraries, and it’ll be worth it.

Don’t despair if you’re not a student, many uni libraries will lend books out to community members and/or alumni.  That’s how I got mine.  Give the ones near you a call and find out if they do.  (Gotta be proactive, party people, get to it!)  Even if they don’t loan books, you can always be ultra-cool and hang out at the library while you read them.

How do you read?  What do you get out of it?  For tips to help you get the most out of your reading, check out my earlier post, “Get  Your Read On”.

Non-disheartening disclaimer: My alma mater is a fairly large University and the library is semi-massive (25 floors).  Not every uni or college is going to have the same selection, of course, but that shouldn’t stop you from finding out what’s in your neck of the woods!  Especially if they  have a Japanese program!

6 Responses to Hack a Uni Library

  1. kanjiwarrior says:

    Another good tip, that I got from http://drivers99.wordpress.com/ is that if you can’t find a Japanese book you want from your Library you can try Inter-Library Loan. I was able to find some graded readers that are quite expensive on their own through the LL program. Some Libraries charge (for example $5 a book), but my local one doesn’t. One of the books I got came from as far away as Pacific University in Washington state! With my local library here in Vegas I can actually look through their website to see if they can get a book for me, searching by title or ISBN, and then order it and receive a email notification when it’s been sent from the lending library to mine here.

    The down side it that it can take 3-6 weeks sometimes, because it’s up to the library on the other end to send it. But if there is a book you are not able to find that you want to read, and you don’t really want to pay for it. You can try Inter-Library Loans!

  2. Delphine says:

    Fortunately, I do still go to school, and this is something I actually hadn’t thought of! Thank you so much for another great post 😀

  3. marcusbird says:

    great site Liz. がんばって!

  4. Jamaipanese says:

    hmmm, not in Uni either but I am sure I can sneak into a library

Leave a Reply

