Play American PS3 Games in Japanese

American version of Little Big Planet (GOTY Edition only!) has Japanese text and audio!

Did you know you can play some PS3 games in Japanese without having the Japanese version?

Yup, even ones that don’t have language setting options in the menu. If your PS3 language is set to Japanese, any game with a Japanese version on it will play it.

There’s quite a few of them, though not enough to satisfy most avid gamers.  But hey, look at it this way…

  • You can save a pretty penny over buying import versions on a few games.
  • You might already have some titles that have Japanese.  Instant immersion!

Here’s a thread on TheJapanesePage’s forum listing U.S. games that have the Japanese version on them.  (Careful!  Sometimes only one version of a game will work.  ie: Little Big Planet only has Japanese on the Game of the Year Edition.  Found this out the hard way.)

Is this true for other regions? I’m not sure, but I’d imagine it is…  If you know, please let us know in the comments!

Many thanks to Travis of V10Japan for letting me know about this awesome immersion hack!

PS: It’s been a long time, I know!  Life’s crazy!  But more posts coming soon 🙂

12 Responses to Play American PS3 Games in Japanese

  1. Aaron Hart says:

    I don’t know why I never thought of putting my PS3 language into Japanese, I just started doing it in November. Right now my favorite game to play is Resonance of Fate. With the PS3 in Japanese EVERYTHING in the game turns to Japanese, even the subtitles and that’s helpful. I wish Bayonetta had Japanese voices but the subtitles and menus are in Japanese so I guess that’s okay. And yeah it is true for other regions, my Bayonetta and Resonance of Fate are both European Region.

    • veganliz says:

      Ooh, the whole game? That’s great! Seems like a really interesting game, too! Must add to my “to play” list 🙂 Glad you’re having fun with them!

  2. Tanna says:

    Thanks so much! I actually had a question about playing PS3 games in Japanese for immersion purposes, so this helped alot!

    *sigh* I really need to update my blog too with 多読 stuff. Good luck!

  3. ta132 says:

    I have a few games that are japanese(ps3 games). It works on my North American(I live in canada) ps3. This is one of the reasons why I like my ps3, it’s region free so any game you get from japan will work(blu-ray format of course). I currently have FF13 in japanese(passed it a few days ago). It’s one of those things that just maintains my immersion environment at every turn if possible.

    • veganliz says:

      Ah, that’s great! And yes, I totally agree. Video games are one of the last things I’ve needed to change to maximize immersion. And what could be more fun? ^^ FF13?! うらやましい~

      • ta132 says:

        I’ve changed my immersion environment pretty easily nowadays(I think it’s due to japanese becoming easier then it was a year ago). FF13 is definitely good due to have a lot of text/audio(japanese). Which adds to the benefit of immersion+everything is in japanese so your forced to make decisions in japanese,read in japanese, change options in japanese. Imagine doing this but times 10, you’d definitely get better just buy doing this. I’m applying this same concept to my srs,reading and writing for japanese nowadays

  4. Amy says:

    PS3 is region-free… no difference between American, Canadian, Australian or Japanese consoles other than default language, I believe 😀

    • veganliz says:

      Yup yup, you are very right, they are region-free for PS3 games and Blu-Ray discs! But backwards-compatible systems will only play PS2 games from their region. (I really wanted to be able to play Japanese PS2 games, they’re cheaper and more accessible for me, so getting a Japanese system was a definite do!) Thanks for the tip!

  5. Lucas says:

    I have always had my PS3 in Japanese (It’s a British one) but unfortunately Little Big Planet and Far Cry 2 (Two of my three games bought in England) have never changed to Japanese for me.
    The only game I have bought in England which allowed me to switch to complete Japanese was Super Street Fight 4.

    I wonder if Japanese is available on Little Big Planet 2 here…
    Well, maybe I shouldn’t take the risk and just import it this time.

    • veganliz says:

      Ah, good to know, I wonder if there are lots of differences with the UK games. Is your LBP a Game of the Year edition? I had an American one that was the original, and it wouldn’t do Japanese either.

  6. Natisha says:

    Check coupons-online to find out if you can find any coupons designed for things you
    need.

Leave a Reply

